Marathon – Oh how you tease and torment!

Posted: May 16, 2013 by Dave Kohrell in Crossfit, Cycling, Marathons, Running, Strength Training, Triathlons
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Still coming off the high and the low of my 25th Marathon – almost at 50 total ultra (1), mara (25) and 1/2s (19) since 1994.

As shared last week in the Lincoln Marathon Recap  the 4:28 was the 7th out of 9 for Lincoln marathon times.  It was better than 2006 and 2009, close to 2003 but slower than the 90s and 2010/11.  The last Lincoln in 2011 was (4:00:16) which, while not all time marathon PR best in terms of distance from Boston Qualifier.  That gap,  gives a concrete “how far away” am I assessment.  In 1996 the qualifying standard for a 31-year-old male was 3:05 – so 50 minutes off.  In 2011 the standard for a 46-year-old male was 3:30 – so 30 minutes off (before that dratted 2012 change).

So, as you can see I’m not a BQ type guy.  As I shared on other posts I’m a grinder, mid-packer and occasional trophy sniffer.  I tore through my body through years of ho-hum endurance training (enjoying it a lot when healthy) and discovered structured, progressive, random strength programming in late 2009.  The results of STRENGTH + ENDURANCE = PRs.  And perhaps a long shot with a perfect storm of a BQ.

If I was closer in 2011, what happened?  Two things –

  1. in 2012 I was disconnected from a CrossFit box and structured programming.  There’s a raging debate on the blog-o-sphere and web land about how structured that programming is.  I’ve benefited from some great training at three different boxes and structure (so Black Box and Starting Strength programming to level out the ‘randomness’).
  2. feeling a tad weak after high mileage December, decided to get my strength swag back (haha) and along the way jumped into CrossFit Open Games.  I completed all 5 WODs at Rx (barely) during a cruddy Spring for running.  Also I did not appreciate the maximal muscle stuff needed to pull off the 5 weeks of the CrossFit Open.  It would put me at a max rep strength on each WOD (not 70% like most Master Males, 45-49).  So there were four weeks of “run more than 5 miles or do hills, rigghhhht, no!” Mistake? Not really, would do again in a heart beat.  It was fun.  Plus while slower than 2010-2012 marathons it was faster by 5 minutes than my max aerobic driven 2009 Lincoln Marathon and felt incredible the day after.  Oh and no injuries!  There’s much more to fitness than what happens on 26.2 miles!  Still if your dream is a killer 26.2 then that leads to the next big bullet line –

So what?  What are you going do now?

Three  things

  1. ENDURANCE. Understand there ain’t no thing as a free lunch as Mark Twight said.  He’s the guy who trained the Movie 300 shredded Spartans at Gym Jones but I can’t get his report for free but know it’s there.  I’m ramping up a mix of speed, stamina and endurance work.  I still value CrossFit Endurance (lots of hate out there in the endurance only community). Come-on ectomorph brothers and sisters, I was once was like you.  But strength is good.  We’re all learning. Jason Fitzgerald and Strength Running is none too happy with it!     Get you head spinning and read the honorable response by TJ Murphy – a high enduro refugee.I’m forgoing CrossFit Endurance and following the FIRST’s Run Less, Run Faster from Runner’s World (RLRF).  It’s a nice 3 running workout plan each week – so tempo, speed and long run.  I leveraged part of this (from Week 8) jumping in with a friend, Amy Uhlmann, who nailed her BQ at Des Moines in October 2012.  On her second marathon.  Freak! 🙂
  2. STRENGTH.  Will strip away some of the intense chipper and limit my AMRAPs.  I need time and recovery for an aggressive swim/bike/run (s/b/r) schedule. Metcons are not suitable substitutions – they have their place.  I’ve learned that let the high intensity intervals stand on their own (whether in the pool, on a bike or running on a trail).  I’ll head back to the Y for some work following a lighter version of Mark Rippetoe’s Starting Strength, punch card at CrossFit and take my strength on the road within the RLRF speed.  I’m forgoing some exercises for now – sumo deadlift high pulls, box jumps (steps instead) and snatches while focusing on squats, strict pull ups, squats, bench, squats, push ups, squats, swings, squats, lunges, squats-thrusters, toes-to-bar, squats – see trend.  SQUATs, loaded, unloaded, my life!
  3. OTHER. Kick in the s/b of the s/b/r – have great swim and bike workouts ready. On those 105 degree days, a pool or bike beats the foot path!

I’m scribing my results daily at Garmin Connect (feel free to connect) and will summarize here and for group stuff on my favorite local group – Freaky Fast Runners.

Next

Details of training, with anchors for Marathon, 5 mile and 10k are shared in the table below.   Think about doing the same for yourself. Include similar races, same course each year. It helps a ton in giving you an apples to apples comparison of the only contest that matters – you against yourself and time (real and father).  One of the things I haven’t appreciated in the mood swings and debates on strength/endurance/combo or right “approach” is lack of transparency.

http://athlinks.com/racer/results/68436406

and here  “type in Kohrell, D” http://www.lincolnrun.org/resultsdb.asp

with this summary below – ok this very detailed table screaming for 15 pie charts – below – double click on the “jpg” and it will expand!

If I were making this up the times would be MUCH faster!

If I were making this up the times would be MUCH faster!

 

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

