The time over distance, speed/strength over LSD (long slow distance) and intensity of effort over “logging miles” has sunk in deeply now.  In looking at January I could feel a few different ways:

  • Down because my running miles were low (67) and almost 1/2 of a year ago.
  • Excited because I had over 300 aerobic miles and several anaerobic sessions (the aerobic miles inflated due to indoor bike/spinning)
  • Steady because I hit a target time goal of 26-30 hours each month or 50-55 minutes each day.

I’ll chose steady.

Daily mile allows a nice quick summary for both time and distance.  I’m hoping to see some drill down ability for

Time

Time is my primary outcome measure now

Rowing and CrossFit/Fitness categories – but I’m not picky.  It’s nice to have a utility that lets me track it all.

Here’s January’s summary

  • Total miles: 301
  • Cycling (trainer, spin, rinse, repeat) – 222
  • Running – 67
  • Rowing – 10
  • Swimming – 2
  • CrossFit WOD’s – 11

February may have a different mix of aerobic miles.  My plan though is a little more swimming, less spinning, running up to 90-100 miles, same row and 12 CrossFit WOD”s.  The idea is flexibility, intensity and consistency.  I would rather hit  rowing/bike/swim at 100% than just log miles on ice (though sometimes I’ll use the mental discipline and crank some miles in -10 weather).

distance

My primary exercise outcome measure from 1992-2009, no longer the case.

Similarly if my shoulders are screaming after a CrossFit WOD (lets say pull up, thruster or wall ball intensive one)  I’ll rest from swimming and rowing for a day or two.  I’ll bike or run instead.  Over the last year I’ve found rowing to be the closest substitute for running in terms of distance and effort.

Quick question for you all, how do you gauge your exercise outcome and success?

Comments
  1. ElenaSC says:

    Wow, look like your are doing very good!
    I’m actually having some motivation issues right now (I wrote a post about it http://wp.me/pXsUB-Fh) maybe you have some suggestion for me….

    • Dave Kohrell says:

      Sure, will check it out.

      Though it was a bit of a learning curve (five to six months), cross training in general and CrossFit / CrossFit Endurance/ Triathlon training in particular has helped with my motivation quite a bit over the last year. Being able to mix it up, with slow but increasing proficiency is a lot of fun!

  2. Kim says:

    Hi, you should give http://www.heiaheia.com a try for the tracking… You can track all kinds of exercises there – even walking the dogs and snow work 🙂
    Plus, you can set weekly targets.

  3. […] Comments Kim on Time not Distance – kick…Position and zoom th… on Week 43-47 of CrossFit WOD…Position and zoom th… on 1 […]

Leave a Reply

