Week 7 of Crossfit WOD’s + Triathlon Training

Posted: March 14, 2010 by Dave Kohrell in Crossfit, Cycling, Running, Swimming
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekly stats
* Running – 24 miles
* Bike/spinning – 8 miles
* Swimming – .43 mile
* Rowing – 0 kilometers
* Crossfit – WOD (workout of the day) – 3 total

Another week of 24 running miles, some bike and swim to pitch in to the “total” as well.  Years ago I would be a bit “freaked” about 24 miles of running close to a marathon, as being too light!  The cross training and freshness in my legs, hips, glutes, everywhere tells me that I’m on the right track.  Of course if I pass out in the Lincoln Marathon on May 2, I’ll admit my error!  I’m also having fun working in jump rope with the kids – they totally own me.  I’ve Google and found as many fun jump rope routines as possible.

Though the Crossfit WOD’s were only 3 this week, two of those were tough.  The nasty one in particular was a 1

Sunday, Day 43 – Recovery run (3) with a CrossFit Endurance twist – up tempo.  2 miles at 9 minute clip, then a mix of 40 jump rope, 25 push ups chest to deck, 75 knees up/ bicycle, 40 jump rope, 25 crunchy frog, 25 push ctd, 20 jump (w/ Rachael)

Monday, Day 44 – This WOD had me saying – ouch, why me!  After the Rx’d warmup I jumped into front squats and a mix of dips and pull ups – 135 of each!  The load was 65lb for the front squat and I used some  jump pulls. 15 pull and dip, 15 fs; 30 pull and dip, 30 fs; 45 pull and dip, 45 fs; 30 pull and dip, 30 fs; 15 pull and dip, 15 fs. 38 minutes later and Ouch!  I do think my squat form is slowly improving and used the curl the front toes to force lift from heels.

Tuesday, Day 45 –  No track but still some sprints.  Another CrossFit Endurance inspired run – pickups were 200, 400, 600, 200, 400, 600, 600 – 7:55 to 8:30 pace. Some hills. Easy jog recovery between. Hamstrings, glutes, groin and shoulders were still a bit sore from yesterday’s WOD. Glad I went – started out just plain sore but felt great at the end

Wednesday, Day 46 –  10k run + WOD!  Ran a favorite loop with the dogs – Heidi and Cash at a nice clip – under 60.  The WOD at the YMCA was 10 rounds of 15 deadlifts (95lb load) and 15 push ups (deck). 10k run & 100 jump rope w/ Rachael and Annaliese for warmup. #p90X AB riper fifer scissor, mason twist, frog and ab wheel to cool down

Thursday, Day 47 – REST Day

CrossFit Endurance

CrossFit Endurance

Friday, Day 48 – 750 yard swim based on the Crossfit Endurance workout of 2 minute on, 1 minute rest x 6.  A great resource for runners, swimmers, cyclists — including a picture link here!

Saturday, Day 49 –  Ran 12 miles at up tempo – 9:34 pace.  Solo this week since I slept in and missed the YMCA gang.  Well not quite solo – had Heidi the faithful pace dog and coach barking at my heels.  Windy day made the 38 degrees feel chillier.   To add to good measure got my old Crossroads, 40lb hybrid bike and pedaled 8 miles later in the day (loops around Mahoney Park).

Leave a Reply

