Week 5 of P90x complete – or not everything always goes as planned

Posted: November 29, 2009 by Dave Kohrell in Exercise - brain connection
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekly stats (I’m looking for the perfect  application/ API that feeds 2 facebook programs, Daily Burn and TeamBeach body… or maybe I should write one)

  • Running – 25 miles
  • Bike/spinning – 24.5 miles
  • Swimming 1,300 yards
  • P90x – Week 5 workouts – all.

It was  a good and unpredictable week, seemed every day required a bit of adjustment.   I shared about the juggling act of last Sunday (11/22/09) with a Sprint Triathlon, the new tortures of the Week 5 Chest, Shoulder and Triceps.  Round 2 for that workout went much smoother today, a five-mile run helped get the blood flowing and Ab Riper X was the perfect cap.

That juggling act seemed to continue the whole week.

Monday, Day 30 – Plyometrics. This has typically been my favorite workout (having done some similar jump training before the summer’s Pike’s Peak Double weekend).   After the previous day’s triathlon,  I was feeling a wee bit tired and struggled through some of this.  I did my best and forgot the best – no sense throwing off the weekly rotation by resting a day (though sometimes that’s warranted).

Here’s the Day 30 Pictures – I’m scared to look!

Tuesday, Day 31 – always one for purchasing things as cheaply as possible, I embarked on my early P90x venture in the same way – google some ads, hit eBay and pick up some DVD’s for around $50.00.  I paid the piper though on Day 31 – Back and Biceps.   In place of a #11 DVD there was a bonus #1 DVD.  So thanks to some more googling I got the sense of what should be done.  I also promptly ordered a new set of DVD’s from Beachbody.  I’m no shill.  Though I’m a Beachbody coach, it’s a reminder that cheap is not always lowest price.  Not a lot of recourse to call a help desk that doesn’t exist for 6 month old product.

Paying the piper meant google and finding a couple of good overview of the workout.  I find a nice series here http://stanford.wellsphere.com/exercise-article/p90x-review-day-11-back-and-biceps/11921 (take a peek), scribed the workouts and hit the workout at our YMCA while my kids were at swim team (though tough, they had the tougher workout – 90 laps =])   My arms felt like falling off would feel better than the wonderfully painful rotation of 2 bicep and 1 pull/chin up workout.  Wow!

Wednesday and Day 32, Yoga.  I really didn’t want to do Yoga.  Kids were at home and it was my turn to watch them.  I was debating a 1/2 Yoga X workout.  Then it happen.  Weather warms up, kids play with friends and my Yoga workout turned out well and full duration.  I still stink on the Warrior 3 poses and routines.  Abs were hurting.  Static poses were just a bit better (can do the bridge up for 30 seconds now!).  Yet all in all great to get er’ done!

Thanksgiving, Day 33, brought the old friend back and legs to me.   A run on Thanksgiving has been a tradition for me.  This year I added a spinning workout.  So after 6.75 miles running and 14+ miles on the bike (about 2 hours total), I felt my legs were just fine.  So in between I worked in the back pull up/chin up sets and Ab Riper X – again at the Y.  This was a fun adaptation, pushing probably more cardio but still building legs (especially spinning and some good running hills).

Ah, Friday, Day 34 KenpoX, was the one seemingly normal day.  I rested from my morning run, hit KenpoX and then a 750 yard swim at night.

So all in all, when things do go as planned, it’s OK.  Learn the workouts well and you can take them on the road.  There’s some fun in doing this stuff at your gym now (got some, “wow, you look like you know what you’re doing looks” from a few people, which was surprising for me around weights 😉

Back at the end of Week 6!

Leave a Reply

