Week 4 of P90x & a Sprint triathlon

Posted: November 24, 2009 by Dave Kohrell in Exercise - brain connection
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Will begin Day 31 of P90x today, but am thinking about Day 29.  There are so many good blogs out there on it.  One of my favorites is from a real overachiever in the San Francisco Bay area – http://www.fitbomb.com.  Check it out.  It’s a nicely daily diary of his journey!

Sunday, Day 29 was  torture in terms of beginning the week 5 rotation after a morning Sprint triathlon.   Held indoors at the Northeast Lincoln YMCA in support of the Strong Kids Campaign,  the Sprint was a blast.

Even more rewarding was doing this alongside my son Joshua.  He ripped through the kids dualthon.  He finished his 50 yard swim and 3/4 mile way too fast (should have done the 100 yard swim and 1 mile for the 11-13 age group, actually wished he would have swam my 500).  The good news he was there to run the lap counter and lament that dad still doesn’t have his flip turn down (I can coach it and did it in high school but need to tune it).  A pedestrian 10:30, 500 yard swim (need to get that to 8 minutes soon), fast 10 mile bike (32 mph- love the spin machines) and good 5k on treadmill (23:55) left me pumped.

And left me lamenting the new set of punishment and torture in the evening.  This was probably my most lack  luster workout of them all, yet was glad I still brought it, tried my best and forgot the rest.   1 ARM push-ups, now familiar chair dips and pike push-ups were just what I needed to bring me out of my shell.   All 24 exercises were worth it.

Leave a Reply

